Mission and vision

Mission

The region of Flanders is striving to hold a top position in the information society. To be a European top region, our community requires a trustworthy, qualitative and sustainable digital memory. As a knowledge hub, PACKED vzw means to contribute to the creation of this memory.

Vision

As a centre of expertise, PACKED vzw means to play a central part in Flanders in centring the development of knowledge, experience and expertise regarding digitisation and digital archiving, and in spreading the acquired knowledge, experience and expertise. In this way, the centre of expertise means to improve and guard the quality and efficiency of actions in regard to digitisation and digital archiving within the broader field of cultural heritage.

PACKED vzw will extend further the knowledge, experience and expertise present so far regarding the creation and management of digital collections and rendering them accessible. Given its historical background, PACKED vzw will focus predominantly on museums and will devote special, yet no exclusive, attention to audiovisual art and audiovisual heritage. In the future, this knowledge, experience and expertise will not only be made available to museums, but also to other institutes (managing collections) and organisations within (and outside) the field of cultural heritage, such as archives and heritage libraries.

Next to this, PACKED vzw coordinates the cooperation with and between different agents in the broad field of heritage working on the acquisition and spread of knowledge, experience and expertise on digitisation and digital archiving of various kinds of cultural heritage. The centre of expertise aims to align its activities with institutes and projects that develop similar activities outside the field of cultural heritage, e.g. university libraries and broadcasting corporations.

As such, PACKED vzw is available to all institutes and organisations in Flanders that have the intention to take care of cultural heritage. The organisation’s activities complement those of FARO, the Flemish interface centre for cultural heritage. The expert organisation encourages standardisation and innovation within the cultural heritage institutes and provides them with support for the adaptation of their services to the requirements and possibilities of the contemporary and future digital society.

PACKED vzw embeds its activities not only within the context of Flanders and Brussels, but evidently also within Belgium, Europe and on a larger international scale. Working on a digital society is a cross-regional matter per definition.

met de steun van de vlaamse overheid

Copyright © 2014 PACKED / Legal disclaimer / Privacy statement / Sitemap
Webdesign by thisconnect.be / pixelman.be

Mission et vision

Mission

La Flandre souhaite occuper une position phare dans la société de l’information. Pour être une région européenne de premier plan, notre société a besoin d’une mémoire numérique fiable, de qualité et durable. L’asbl PACKED veut contribuer à sa création.

Vision

En tant que centre d’expertise, l’asbl PACKED désire jouer un rôle clé en Flandre dans la centralisation de la formation en matière de numérisation et d’archivage numérique ainsi que dans la diffusion de la connaissance, l’expérience et la compétence acquises. Le centre d’expertise souhaite ainsi améliorer et surveiller la qualité et l’efficacité des actions sur le plan de la numérisation et de l’archivage numérique dans le vaste champ du patrimoine culturel.

L’asbl PACKED développe la connaissance, l’expérience et la compétence déjà présentes autour de la création, la gestion et l’accessibilité des collections numériques. Vu ses antécédents historiques, l’asbl PACKED travaille principalement en fonction du secteur des musées et accorde dans ce contexte une attention particulière, cependant pas exclusive, à l’art et au patrimoine audiovisuels. L’asbl PACKED n’a pas l’intention de mettre cette connaissance, expérience et expertise à la seule disposition des musées à l’avenir, mais aussi d’autres institutions et organisations (conservant des collections) au sein (et en dehors) du champ patrimonial culturel, comme les archives et les bibliothèques patrimoniales.

L’asbl PACKED coordonne en outre la collaboration avec et entre divers acteurs du vaste champ patrimonial culturel qui contribuent à l’acquisition et la diffusion de connaissance, d’expérience et d’expertise en matière de numérisation et d’archivage numérique de différentes sortes de patrimoine culturel. Le centre d’expertise cherche à synchroniser son travail avec des institutions et des projets qui déploient des activités similaires en dehors du champ du patrimoine, p.ex. les bibliothèques universitaires et les chaînes audiovisuelles.

Ainsi, l’asbl PACKED s’adresse à toutes les institutions et organisations en Flandre, dont la mission inclut la prise en charge et la conservation du patrimoine culturel. L’organisation travaille de manière complémentaire à FARO, la plate-forme flamande de soutien au patrimoine culturel. Le centre d’expertise stimule la standardisation et l’innovation au sein des institutions liées au patrimoine culturel et les soutient dans l’adaptation de leurs services aux exigences et possibilités de la société numérique actuelle et future.

L’asbl PACKED n’ancre pas ses activités exclusivement dans le contexte flamand et bruxellois, mais tout autant belge, européen et international. Travailler à une société numérique signifie par définition traverser les frontières.