History

PACKED vzw was founded in 2005 by Argos – centre for art and media, the Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen (M HKA / Museum of Contemporary Art Antwerp), the Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K / Municipal Museum of Contemporary Art, Ghent) and the Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD), as a knowledge platform for the archiving and preservation of audiovisual arts. Partly because digitisation is a key aspect in this archiving and preservation process, PACKED vzw has increasingly focussed over the years on the challenges that arise for digital cultural heritage in general. Since 1 January 2011, PACKED vzw has been acknowledged by the Ministry of the Flemish Community as a centre of expertise for digital cultural heritage.

Previous history: the PACKED partners

Since 1998, Argos has launched a series of preservation projects for video art from the 1970s and 1980s. The project Rewind ran from 1998 until 2000 and concerned the preservation of about 100 film and video works from the 1970s. Argos researched different collections in order to retrieve for each of the works the best version still available, and to then transfer these versions to Digital Betacam. The actual digitisation and restoration were contracted out. Another project concerned the preservation of video works by Lili Dujourie from the period 1972-1982. With the support of the Cera Foundation these videos were digitised and restored image by image. For some years now Argos also collaborates with VRT (Flemish Radio and Television) on the preservation and disclosure of the entire television works by Jef Cornelis.

S.M.A.K. went through three different phases to construct an inventory of art works and documents on art on electronic and digital carriers in public collections in Flanders. The project Preservation of video material from public collections (2002) was realised in collaboration with the ModeMuseum (MoMu/Fashion Museum). The project included the creation of an inventory and the actual preservation of the collection. The preservation of the autonomous art works was contracted out, but for the transfer of the documentary material (on art) an investment was made in equipment. 400 hours of video from the S.M.A.K. and MoMu were digitised during this project.

In the follow-up project Preservation of Video Material from Public Collections (2003) the digitisation of the video collections of S.M.A.K. and MoMu was continued and its scope was extended to other institutions. M HKA (collection ICC – International Cultural Centre) and the Provincial Museum of Modern Art (PMMK, Ostend) became involved as project partners. Within this follow-up project the Video Inventaris Vlaanderen (Flanders Video Inventory) was developed; an online tool for the creation of an inventory of video material. In 2004, S.M.A.K. and M HKA consequentially started a research project on the digital disclosure of their archives: the pilot project Archive management in the field of contemporary visual art. Within this project they investigated which systems and structures were (inter)nationally available, how the archive of a museum of contemporary art could be described (bearing in mind the different new media in their own collections), the extent to which an archive could be made optimally accessible to the public and how the data management of one single institution could fit into a larger whole.

Previous history: research by interface centres IAK and IBK

In 2003 Ine Vos conducted the study Preservation and archiving of artistic audiovisual creations on electronic and digital carriers in Flanders (2003) for the former interface centres IAK and IBK (now merged to BAM). In this study an overview was given of the projects mentioned earlier. Its conclusion stated that a lot of knowledge in various fields was already present in Flanders, but a long term policy for the archiving and preservation of artistic audiovisual creations was still missing. The study suggested additional research should take place to assess the situation further, including a more detailed mapping of institutions’ needs, while at the same time providing practical solutions.

Collaboration platform

The results of the IAK/IBK study were discussed with the different governments and actors active in the field of audiovisual arts. As a result Argos, M HKA and S.M.A.K. signed a collaboration agreement and founded a platform. This platform, named Platform for the Archiving and Preservation of Artistic Creations on Electronic and Digital Carriers (PACKED), acted initially as a commissioner of additional research. Since the inclusion of heritage in subsidy frameworks per discipline, and owing to the creation of the cultural heritage decree, policy frameworks became available in which the conservation of video art – and on a wider scale: audiovisual and multimedia art and documentation of art on electronic and digital carriers – could receive financial support. Another study was conducted. Its aim was to propose a structural, long term and step-by-step solution for the preservation problem of audiovisual and multimedia art and of documentation on art, without losing sight of the broader field of cultural heritage. This resulted in the report Sustainable instability: the preservation of audiovisual media art in a changing landscape (2004-2005) by Stoffel Debuysere.

Cooperative umbrella organisation with national relevant expertise

In January 2005 Argos, M HKA and S.M.A.K., in cooperation with Museum Dhondt-Dhaenens, founded the vzw PACKED. In December 2004 PACKED vzw was acknowledged by the Ministry of the Flemish Government as a cooperative umbrella organisation with national relevant expertise and received a yearly working grant for the period 2006-2010.

In the period until the end of 2008 PACKED vzw organised, amongst others, the following public events: Media Matters (2007, co-production with Argos), Media, Memory & The Archive (2007, co-production with Argos), Document formats Audiovisual Heritage (2007, in co-production with Digital Heritage Netherlands), Author’s rights in the cultural field, from wanting to obstacle? (2008) and At least preservable until…? (2008). 

A lot of attention has gone as well to the construction of an international network. A cross-border collaboration seems urgent because of the characteristic problems related, amongst others, to the archiving and conservation of audiovisual arts, the still relatively recent local expertise, the need of feedback from colleagues, the limited financial resources in the sector and the small scale of Flanders. Extending this international network was an important motivation for PACKED vzw to participate in the European project ATHENA (2008-2011) and to engage in a close collaboration with the Nederlands Instituut voor Mediakunst (NIMk/Netherlands Media Arts Institute).

Since 2009, PACKED vzw has still been intent on extending its international network, but the priority has shifted towards the delivery of tangible results that can be shared with the world of art and cultural heritage. To accomplish this, a series of new projects has been launched in cooperation with national and international partners, a user-friendly website has been developed and an online preservation manual has been published. PACKED vzw also initiated a dialogue with Expertisecentrum DAVID (eDAVID) in order to achieve the harmonisation of both organisations’ activities. eDAVID has become a member of PACKED vzw in August 2009. A representative of the organisation has become a member of the managing bodies of PACKED vzw.

National expertise centre for cultural heritage

The collaboration with eDAVID has led to a commission from the Agency for Arts and Heritage of the Flemish Community to create a publication of standards for digital cultural heritage. In 2010 the commission set up the project CEST (Cultural Heritage Standard Toolbox), and in the second half of 2010 eDAVID and PACKED vzw also started preparations for a course called ‘Digitisation of Audiovisual Objects (Moving Image and Sound)’, as a commission for the Archipel consortium.

Due to the approval of the new cultural heritage decree in 2008, PACKED vzw can no longer be supported as a cooperative umbrella organisation as of 2011. In April 2010 PACKED vzw applied to be acknowledged by the Flemish Government as a national centre of expertise for cultural heritage. This acknowledgment was granted for a one-year period only. In April 2011 PACKED vzw applied for a new acknowledgement over the period 2012-2016; the Flemish Government announced in October 2011 that continued support as centre of expertise will be granted for the requested period.

met de steun van de vlaamse overheid

Copyright © 2014 PACKED / Legal disclaimer / Privacy statement / Sitemap
Webdesign by thisconnect.be / pixelman.be

Historique

PACKED vzw a été fondé en 2005 par Argos – centre pour l’art et les médias, Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst Antwerpen (M HKA / Le Musée d’art contemporain d’Anvers), le Stedelijk Museum voor Actuele Kunst (S.M.A.K. / Le Musée Municipal d’Art Contemporain - Gand) et le Musée Dhondt-Dhaenens (MDD) comme plateforme de connaissances pour l'archivage et la préservation des arts audiovisuels. En partie parce que la numérisation est un aspect clé dans ce processus d'archivage et de préservation, PACKED vzw s'est concentré de plus en plus ces dernières années sur les défis émergents pour le patrimoine culturel en général. Depuis le 1er janvier 2011 PACKED vzw est reconnu par le Ministère de la Communauté Flamande en tant que centre d'expertise pour le patrimoine culturel numérique.

Histoire antérieure : Les partenaires de PACKED

Depuis 1998, Argos a lancé une série de projets de préservation pour l’art vidéo des années 1970 et 1980. Le projet Rewind qui s’est déroulé de 1998 à 2000 concernait la préservation d’environ 100 œuvres des années 1970 sur film et sur vidéo. Argos a sondé plusieurs collections afin de trouver la meilleure version disponible des œuvres, pour ensuite les transférer vers Betacam Numérique. la numérisation et la restauration furent alors réalisées par un prestataire externe. Un autre projet concernait la préservation des œuvres vidéo de Lili Dujourie de la période 1972-1982 et avec le soutien de la Fondation Cera, ces vidéos furent numérisées et restaurées image par image. Depuis quelques années maintenant Argos coopère aussi avec la VRT (Radio et Télévision Flamandes) sur la préservation et la distribution des œuvres de Jef Cornelis.

Pour le S.M.A.K., la construction d’un inventaire d’œuvres et de documents à propos de l’art sur supports électroniques et numériques dans les collections publiques en Flandre s’est déroulée en trois phases. Le projet Préservation de contenus vidéo issus des collections publiques (2002) a été réalisé en collaboration avec le ModeMuseum (MoMu/Musée de la Mode) . Le projet comprenait la création d’un inventaire, et la préservation de la collection. La préservation des œuvres autonomes fut réalisée par un prestataire externe, mais pour le transfert des contenus documentaires (sur l’art) un investissement en équipement qui sera utilisé et entreposé par le S.M.A.K. a été fait. 400 heures de vidéo provenant du S.M.A.K. et du MoMu ont été numérisées durant ce projet.

Lors du projet de suivi Préservation des contenus vidéo issus des collections publiques (2003) la numérisation des collections vidéo du S.M.A.K. et du MoMu a été poursuivie et étendue à d’autres institutions. Le M KHA (collection ICC – International Cultural Center) et le Provinciaal Museum voor Moderne Kunst (PMMK/ Musée Provincial d’Art Moderne, Ostende) ont été impliqués en tant partenaires du projet. Dans le cadre de ce projet de suivi, le Video Inventaris Vlaanderen (l’Inventaire de la Vidéo en Flandres) a été mis en place ; un outil en ligne pour la création d’un inventaire des contenus vidéo. En 2004, le S.M.A.K. et le M KHA débutèrent en conséquence un projet de recherche sur la communication numérique de leur archive : le projet pilote Gestion des archives dans le champ des arts visuels contemporains. Dans le cadre de ce projet, on a chercher à connaître les systèmes et structures disponibles (inter)nationalement, comment les archives d’un musée pouvaient être décrite (en ayant à l’esprit les différents nouveaux médias dans leur collections), dans quelle mesure une archives pouvait être rendues accessibles de façon optimale au public et comment la gestion des données d’une seule institution pouvait intégrer un plus large ensemble.

Histoire antérieure : recherches menées par les organismes interfaces IAK et IBK

En 2003 Ine Vos conduisit l’étude Préservation et archivage des créations artistiques audiovisuelles sur supports électroniques et numériques en Flandre (2003) pour les organismes interfaces IAK (Initiative Art Audiovisuels) et IBK (Initiative Art Visuels)(maintenant fusionné en BAM). Dans cette étude un aperçu a été donné des projets mentionnés précédemment. Cette étude conclut qu’une grande quantité de connaissances différentes étaient déjà présentes en Flandre mais qu’il manquait toujours une politique à long terme pour l’archivage et la préservation des créations artistiques audiovisuelles. L’étude suggérait une investigation supplémentaire de la situation, y compris une cartographie plus détaillée des besoins des institutions tout en fournissant des solutions pratiques.

Platforme collaborative

Les résultats de l’étude IAK/IBK furent discutés avec différents gouvernements et acteurs actifs dans le champs des arts audiovisuels. Ceci résultat dans la signature d’un accord de collaboration entre Argos, le M KHA et le S.M.A.K. et la création d’une plateforme. Cette plateforme, nommée Plateforme pour l’Archivage et la Préservation des Créations Artistiques sur Supports Électroniques et Numériques (PACKED), agissait initialement comme une organisation commandant des recherches additionnelles. Depuis l’inclusion du patrimoine dans le cadre des subventions par discipline, et grâce à la création du décret sur le patrimoine culturel, un cadre d’action dans lequel la conservation de l’art vidéo – et de façon plus large : les arts audiovisuels et multimédia et la documentation des arts sur supports électroniques et numériques – peut être soutenu financièrement. Une autre étude fut réalisée ayant pour objectif de proposer une solution structurelle pas à pas et à long terme pour le problème de la préservation des arts audiovisuels et multimédia et de la documentation sur l’art, sans perdre de vue le champ plus large du patrimoine culturel. Le résultat fut le rapport Instable Longévité : la préservation des arts médiatiques audiovisuels dans un paysage changeant (2004-2005) par Stoffel Debuysere.

Organisation ombrelle de coopération à l’expertise et aux compétences nationales

En janvier 2005 Argos, le M KHA et le S.M.A.K., en coopération avec le musée Dondt-Dhaenens, fondèrent PACKED. En décembre 2004, le statut d’organisation ombrelle de coopération à l’expertise nationale compétente de PACKED fut confirmé par le Ministère du Gouvernement Flamand, et cette dernière fut assurée d’une subvention annuelle pour la période 2006-2010.

Dans la période allant jusqu’à fin 2008, PACKED a organisé entre autres les évènements publics suivants : Media Matters (2007, en co-production avec Argos), Media, Memory & The Archive (2007, en co-production avec Argos), Formats de documents Patrimoine Audiovisual (2007, en co-production avec le DEN (Patrimoine Numér ique Pays-Bas), Droits d’auteurs dans le domaine culturel, du manque à l’obstacle ? (2008) and Préservable au moins jusqu’à…? (2008).

Une grande attention fut aussi portée à la construction d’un réseau international. Une collaboration transfrontalière paraît urgente du fait des problèmes caractéristiques liés à l’archivage et à la conservation des arts audiovisuels, la toujours relative expertise locale, le besoin de retour de la part des collègues, les ressources financières limitées du secteur et la faible envergure de la Flandre. L’extension de ce réseau international est à la base de la participation de PACKED vzw dans le projet européen ATHENA (2008-2011) et une collaboration étroite avec le Nederlands Instituut voor Mediakunst (NIMk/Institut Néerlandais pour les Arts Médiatiques).

Depuis 2009, PACKED vzw tente toujours d’étendre son réseau international, mais la priorité est devenu la délivrance de résultats tangibles pouvant être partagés avec le monde de l’art et du patrimoine culturel. Pour accomplir cela, une série de nouveaux projets ont été lancés en coopération avec des partenaires nationaux et internationaux ; un site web plus conviviale a été développé ; et un manuel de préservation en ligne a été publié. PACKED vzw a aussi entamé un dialogue avec Expertisecentrum DAVID (eDAVID) afin d’aboutir à l’harmonisation des activités des deux organisations. eDAVID est devenu un membre de PACKED vzw en août 2009. Un représentant de l’organisation est devenu membre du directoire de PACKED vzw.

Centre d’expertise national pour le patrimoine culturel

Le résultat de la collaboration avec eDAVID a été une commande de l’Agence pour les Arts et le Patrimoine de la Communauté Flamande pour la création d’une publication de standards pour le patrimoine culturel numérique. Cette commande fut en 2010 le point de départ du projet CEST (Cultural Heritage Standard Toolbox – Boîte à outils pour les Standards du Patrimoine Culturel). Dans la seconde moitié de l’année 2010, eDAVID et PACKED vzw ont aussi démarrer la préparation du cours ‘Numérisation des Contenus Audiovisuels (Images en Mouvement et Son)’, commandé par le consortium Archipel.

Du fait de la reconnaissance en 2008 du nouveau décret sur le patrimoine culturel, PACKED vzw ne peut plus être soutenu en tant qu’organisation ombrelle de coopération et ce à compter de l’année 2011. En avril 2010, PACKED vzw a demandé à être reconnu par le Gouvernement Flamand en tant que centre d’expertise pour le patrimoine culturel numérique. Cette reconnaissance a été accordée pour une période de un an. En avril 2011, PACKED vzw a demandé à être à nouveau reconnu pour la période 2012-2016, et cette demande a reçu une réponse favorable du gouvernement flamand en octobre 2011.